The K-12 Committee will provide a professional development opportunity for selected teachers in the Marietta and Cobb County School Districts, where they will tour Chattahoochee Technical College, Kennesaw State University, and Georgia Highlands to see available options for higher education for all students. The opportunity, dubbed “Pre-K to PhD: Cobb County Has It All,” shows teachers that even the lowest-level student has a chance to excel in life through the option of college. The campus tours will show the teachers programs that can appeal and apply to all types of students, but especially first-generation and lower socio-economic students. Through this opportunity, teachers will make connections with staff at each institution and learn how to integrate available pathways into their own classrooms.

Project Director: Amie Howard, Cobb County Schools

Current Members:

Cathy Barco, Marietta City Schools
Marcus Griffin, Cobb County Schools
Natasha Habers, Kennesaw State University
Amie Howard, Cobb County Schools
Alex Soto, Marietta City Schools
Sarah Tesar, Georgia Highlands College
Shevelyn Toliver, Chattahoochee Technical College
Tamala Wells, Marietta City Schools